When I Knew – Robert Trachtenberg

WIK

(Not discussed by the group but written in a personal capacity.)

A collection of often poignant stories about that revelatory moment for all gay men and women: when they first knew. A gorgeously illustrated, full-colour coffee table book by fashion and celebrity photographer Robert Trachtenberg with over 100 contributors

My favourite was the little boy who looked under the television to see what was under Tarzan’ s loin cloth.

What are American straights afraid of? So many of these little stories evoked hostility.

I liked Stephen Fry’s ‘When I was born, I remember looking back up  at my mother and saying, that’s the last time I’m going up one of those.”’

Also the author’s foreward ‘If this book can help just one person…. Then I’m that much closer to getting residuals.’

You can read it in one sitting but it is better savoured in short doses.

return to the home page

Leave a Reply

